This Is Why I Run – 30 Months Later

There is something magical about the number 30 for me this month. I honestly need to fly to Vegas and play that number repeatedly.

June marks the 30th month that I have been running since receiving the now “dinosaur” Nike Plus running watch as a gift from my wife on Christmas Day 2009.  This month I will run my 3,000th mile since I began keeping a log on Jan 1, 2010.  On that day I weighed 218 lbs and could barely run a mile at the Vestavia Hills High School track near my home. Today, I weighed in at 188 lbs.  I have never felt healthier in my life.

30 months – 3,000 miles – 30 lbs lost

Why have I become a true Running Addict?  Is it the 4 marathons, the 8 half-marathons, 2 200 mile team relays, several 10K’s,  and several 5Ks over these past 30 months?? And a plan to run a long distance race nearly every month??…. Is it the quest to break 4 hours in that 26.2 mile torture test?..  well… maybe that has something to do with it…but….it’s much deeper than that.

My life has changed dramatically over the past 30 months.  We now have a son…at age 46 I am the father of an 18 month old boy who is already throwing tennis balls at my head.  I will be 57 years old when he is playing pee wee football. Our oldest daughter, Kennedy, recently graduated from high school and will attend Lee University in Cleveland, TN this fall to pursue her calling to youth ministry and voice performance.  Our other 3 daughters are all achieving the highest marks at school and are cheerleaders, dancers, gymnasts, soccer players, etc.  We are very blessed to have 5 healthy children.

Today, as I ran an up tempo 5 miler in Homewood, I spent the entire run daydreaming of the year 2029.

Kennedy will be 35 years old.  Sarah will be 29 years old.  Maggie will be 27 years old.  Savannah will be 23 years old.  Olen will be 18 and graduating high school.  The odds are very, very good that I will be a grandfather; possibly more than one.

In 2029, I will be nearing 64 years old but one thing was very clear in this vision I had at 12pm today……  Olen will have to run a very, very fast qualifying marathon to run with me in Boston that year.

Here’s to the next 30 months and the life changes that will come with them.

About Running Dad of Five

I am a father of five who runs marathons and eats hills for breakfast. I am 46 years old, blessed with a wonderful wife of 21 years, four beautiful daughters and an infant son. On a mission to juggle family, work and my love of sports.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This Is Why I Run – 30 Months Later

  1. Myrtie Norrell says:

    This is AWESOME!! What an amazing legacy for your family!! It is hard to believe that you got up to 218 lbs – you were always so tall and skinny in school. Congratulations!!

  2. ed schober says:

    Right on Bama! We are in the same boat. Congrats on all of your awesomeness!

  3. Congrats on reaching this milestone! Your family is so beautiful!

    What’s your next marathon? I’m thinking of adding Rocket City to my list. Have you run that one?

Leave a Reply

